Uncategorized

After Years of Listening, A Stone Comes to Life

After years of listening, a stone comes to life,
and the candle in the tiny grass;
and the night, like a wife, comes home;
a feather, in this touch of wind, flies back
to the lost bird, and everything I do not know
begins to sway at once.

I love these nights of irresistible somnambulance!
These nights when the wind blows its lullabye
to each lonely wing; I love this old body I walk in,
I love this dependable sage, this desert scent
I sink into when I rest; and suddenly I know
I will no longer apologize for loving you.

I whispered your name and the wind whinnied back.
All the horses of heaven are in the pasture tonight.

— James Tipton

Standard

3 thoughts on “After Years of Listening, A Stone Comes to Life

  1. Pingback: Writing at night

  2. Pingback: why i write late at night

  3. Pingback: #7: Read. // Write. // Listen. | DO NOW | Marianne Manzler

Leave a Reply

